Angel Blog

Celebrate National Constitution Day

September 17th is National Constitution Day, a day to commemorate the formation and signing of the U.S. Constitution by 39 brave men in 1787. On this day we recognize the adoption of the United States Constitution and those who have become U.S. citizens.

Those signers of the U.S. Constitution were:

  • Abraham Baldwin
  • Richard Bassett
  • Gunning Bedford, Jr.
  • John Blair
  • William Blount
  • David Brearly
  • Jacob Broom
  • Pierce Butler
  • Daniel Carroll
  • George Clymer
  • Jonathan Dayton
  • John Dickinson
  • William Few
  • Thomas Fitzsimons
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Nicholas Gilman
  • Nathaniel Gorham
  • Alexander Hamilton
  • Jared Ingersoll
  • William Jackson, Secretary (attesting)
  • Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer
  • William Samuel Johnson
  • Rufus King
  • John Langdon
  • William Livingston
  • James Madison
  • James McHenry
  • Thomas Mifflin
  • Gouverneur Morris
  • Robert Morris
  • William Paterson
  • Charles Pinckney
  • Charles Cotesworth Pinckney
  • George Read
  • John Rutledge
  • Roger Sherman
  • Richard Dobbs Spaight
  • George Washington (president of the Convention)
  • Hugh Williamson
  • James Wilson

We hold this day in our hearts as patriots and as angels to those who fight so bravely for our country. Every year since 2001, a nationally synchronized recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance called the Pledge Across America is done.

You can join the Pledge Across America by simply reciting the Pledge of Allegiance to show your

I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.